Brulog

Words of occasional wisdom from Bruce Oakley

Welcome

Posted by boakley59 on January 21, 2008

Welcome to the Brulog, my little archipelago in the vast ocean of the Internet.

Dante wrote “Abandon hope …” but that greeting is a bit gloomy for my taste, so let me say, “Abandon indifference, all ye who enter here.”

Long ago, I learned that I cannot write well without feelings. I must have passion. Sometimes I practice writing techniques with no topic, but even then I have passion for words and language — the sounds and shapes, meanings and magic.

So, I encourage all visitors to the Brulog to read with passion — for my ideas or yours, for words and discourse, or even just for what you can learn about me. If you think some of my writings misguided, feel free to write of your passion for a different view. Think of me on those occasions, though, as a best friend who has gone astray, not a raving enemy to be silenced.

Here’s the trick about writing (or speaking) with passion: Sometimes all that comes through is the passion; the message is lost in the sound and the fury. And the secret of the trick is knowing whether the passion or the message is more important.

So, come into the Brulog, and let us reason passionately together.

2 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. bruce – so glad you’ve started this! love these thoughts on passion – i’m going to keep them as a reminder, for so often I rework my writing to be less about the passion and more about the reaction I’m hoping either to get or to avoid. A side effect of mostly writing for a live audience…

    You’re right, though, and it’s inspiring – here’s to writing with passion!

  2. […] say, all you locals – did you know Suzy’s husband Bruce started a blog? Run on over and read his comments about writing and passion. Inspiring. Also in local news, Millie’s back! I can pry my fingernails out of my keyboard […]

Leave a Reply

 
